People really do say some of the strangest things in that space between sleep and wakefulness. I have read on another blog about how his partner says weird things. Well gentle readers this morning takes the cake(or the doughnut,depending on how you look at it) read on if you dare.

About 4:30 this morning I woke to find Patrick sitting up on his side of the bed. I asked him what was going on.He said ” I am hungry and I need to go to Taco Bell.” Now,the closest TB to us is at least 5/6 miles from our house and I was fairly sure they were not opened at 4:30 in the morning. I tried (in vain) to convince him of these facts. His answer to me was ” But I already have the whole team order!”

“What team?” I asked.

“Duh, the whole softball team’s order.” was his reply.

It was at this point that I realized he was dreaming. I promptly told him to lay back down and go to sleep because he was dreaming and there was no softball team.And that,in fact, he didn’t even play softball. I lay back down thinking the dilemma was over. How wrong was I ? Not 20 minutes later he was sitting up on the side of the bed again.

“Babe? what is it ?” I asked.

“Where are we?” was his reply. I answered him “We are back home in Maui, why do you ask?”

“I’m very hungry I need to go to the store.” He answered.

Now by this time it was around 5 A.M. and I had to get up to get ready for work at 6:30. I convinced him (again) to lay back down as it was 5 A.M. and no stores were opened yet. I awoke again around 5:30 A.M. to find his side of the bed empty.I went to go see where he was. He was not at home.Lola was laying on the couch staring at the door,so I knew he hadn’t been gone too long. I looked on the table and saw his car keys,so I knew he had not gone too far.But I was still worried, I’m not sure why. Maybe because ..that’s just what I do when he isn’t in bed at 5:30 A.M. like he is supposed to be. I decided that there was no way I could go back to sleep. So I started ironing my clothes for work.About half an hour later he came waltzing back in like there was nothing strange at all.Also in his possession were 2 doughnuts and 2 large coffees.

“Where the hell were you? I fumed “I was worried when I woke up and you were nowhere to be found.”

“Why were you worried, I told you I was going to go to the store?”

At that point I decided to drop it and sat down to enjoy my (way too early)coffee and doughnut. If I am a little cranky when I get home today I hope he understands.

