We have already established that I work in the Hospitality Industry and,for the most part,I love it. I guess that’s why I have been doing it for about 20 years now (ouch that makes me feel old) . I have done it all,from All night Diners,to exclusive Members only Dining clubs. But my heart has always been in the Hotel/Resort portion of the iindustry. There really is something to be said about helping guests experience what we have to offer. And in doing so making their stay more enjoyable. But perhaps that is just my opinion. I was told once,by one of my GMs, that I have a “Servant’s Heart”. Which I suppose is a great thing to have considering my career choice.

I said all that to get to this. The resort I work in now is one of the most prestigious Resorts on the island,and I am bored off of my ass right now. The reason for this boredom can be found in the title of this post. We have 2 distinct seasons;Group and FIT. Group season usually runs from September through May. This is the time that really tests your mettle it is non stop, balls to the wall action. This is when all the corporate people come for conventions, where we can realistically serve 1800 people breakfast,lunch and dinner for as long as 2 weeks at a time.I love group season,even though I sometimes forget what Patrick looks like during this time. This is the season in which I normally work 12/16 hours a day.

FIT season is the complete opposite. They are the Frequent Independent Travelers. The Moms and Dads bringing all the kiddies to our island paradise for vacation. And it is the most boring for me. I am the Assistant Stewarding Mgr. We work very closely with banquets delivering all of the equipment and food to all the functions, and are also in charge of all the restaurants on the property. There are not very many banquets during this season which leads to my boredom. As a Mgr I have to stay for at least 5/6 hours on any given day that I work, and there are only so many projects one can do. Anyway there really wasn’t a point to this post other than to give you a little more insight as to what a day in the life of scottk is like. I hope I didn’t bore you all too badly. I do realize that I still have a few vacation stories to relay and the pictures are in the works! I also haven’t done a “peek into my library” post in a while so that is also in the works. So stay tuned for more frivolity and mayhem here on LWL.

 Oh Yeah I forgot to mention that I have updated my blogroll with a few new blogs that I found .Check them out if you wish. A Spiders Web in Thornton Park, Past Present and Future, Southern Expressions, You can’t handle the Truthiness, As I like it, I wish I knew, Just Thinking of Them ,Planet Dan, Rckt Man’s Launching pad, Exlibris Emohawk and last but not least Dispatches of MFA seeking writer.Please enjoy them as I have !

