Those of you who know me, know that I am not the most co-ordinated person you will ever meet. Those who I will meet in the future will find out quite quickly that I am one of the world’s premiere klutzes. “Be careful!” “Watch Out!” and “Are you okay?” are phrases I have been acquainted with since time immemorial.If there is a wall, I will run into it. A chandelier hanging, I will bump my head on it. A curb to step over,I will, more than likely, fall over it.How many people do you know that routinely fall UP the stairs? And for the most part I have gotten over it. I have lived with this fact for 40 years and learned quickly it was not a “phase” I was going through. It is, in fact, my lot in life. All through Junior High and High School,my Summer vacations were not complete unless I had visited the emergency room at least once.I am the clumsy one (Hi there, nice to meet ya).

Not to put too fine a point on it, but when I told a friend of mine I was going to take surfing lessons when I got to Maui. She burst out laughing. I asked her what was so funny. Her response was ” Scott I don’t see you surfing as much as I see you floundering around in the water.” There you have it.

Today I had some time to kill before work. I decided to go to Starbucks and grab my caffeinated beverage of choice (Vente Vanilla Latte) and a piece of Banana bread. After my purchase I sat and enjoyed my bread. As I walked out the door to go to work I saw a friend of mine that I worked with at my first job on Maui . I haven’t seen her in almost a year. We were both excited to see each other. We hugged for a long time, kissed and squealed like school girls. Then I spilled a steaming hot Vente Vanilla Latte all over her butt and legs. Klutz indeed. She wrote down my number (after I got her all cleaned up) and promised to hang out sometime. Most likely after the burns have healed.

