*** If you have not read any of the Harry Potter books, you may not understand this post. However, feel free to rate my geekiness anyway. ***

Last night I was so excited to get into Borders and buy my copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,that I locked my keys in my car. Yes, you read that correctly. Let me explain. I knew that I did not have enough cash on me to get it. In fact I wasn’t even going to get it, at least not until it came out in paperback. My sister, however made the point that if I didn’t get it, I wouldn’t know what happened until a year or so later than everyone else. And by that time I am sure I would have heard how it ended, so it would have been ruined for me anyway.  Back to not having the cash. Bank funds were also low so I didn’t want to put it on my debt card. Then I remembered my “emergency” credit card.

I called and asked Mr. Patrick if it would be ok to use some of the credit card to make up what I lacked in cash. That conversation happened right after I pulled into Borders. After Patrick said that I could indeed call “needing ” this book an “emergency”, I hung up ( after many thanks yous, and promising to read it to him at night before bed), hit my automatic locking mechanism and closed my door. As soon as the door thunked closed I realized what I did. Did I let that stop me? No, I did not. I went into the store, purchased my book and asked if they had a wire hanger. Luck was with me because they did, and they even let me keep it.

Now, none of the above really makes me a geek( except for the whole getting overly excited about a book). I did not march to my nearest book seller at 11:45 P.M. on the 20th to wait in line. I did not dress as my “favorite character” and attend a book bash party at the Borders here. In fact I did not even pre-order or reserve one. Hell, I even waited a whole 20 hours after it was available to buy my copy.

This is the part that made me believe I might be a geek. While I was trying to get into my car with the aforementioned wire hanger, all I was thinking is that if I had attended Hogwart’s School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, I would have been able to Wingardium Leviosa my spare keys to myself. But the more I thought about it I realized that the Wingardium Leviosa Spell was a LEVITATION spell. It would not have helped me at all. What I needed was to Accio the spare keys to me, or for that matter I could have just Accio(ed) the keys that were in the ignition. Because we all know that to Accio something is to summon it with a summoning spell or charm.

Then it dawned on me. I was having a conversation in my head about which magical spell I would have actually used to unlock my car door, or to get my spare key from home.  My epiphany was that, yes, indeed I am a geek. Now that I think about it maybe blogging about the whole situation takes it to a whole new level of geekiness.

The rules are simple. Common scale 1-10 (1 being less geeky 10 being most geeky) . Please leave your vote in the comment section of this post. If you feel the need to up the scale to 1-20 ……go ahead, if you must.

*** UPDATE- I just thought of something else. I could have just shattered my window, grabbed the keys and the just Reparo(ed) the window. (okay scott that’s enough…..no seriously, it is ……I mean it ….no more updates)

