books.jpg

Into my library, for 2008, that is . I vaguely remember threatening you with more of these after the ending of the book club, but I have been busy. I have had time to read a few really good books though,and, thanks to some new friends over at Goodreads, have learned that I am a huge fan of Historical Fiction ( imagine that).

I have read a few good ones in the past 4 months or so, but I will not bore you with all of them. Two of them were exceptionally good and so I will let you know a bit about them. The first was Silent in the GraveBy Deanna Raybourn. * An Aside- Sometimes the way I decide on a book is by reading a few pages or lines of the book before I pick it, usually skipping through some chapters and picking things from here or there.* That being said, the opening line of this book grabbed me, making my decision much easier. This is the first line I read ” To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching upon the floor.”  I was pleased that her wit and sarcasm continued all through the book. I actually rated this book a 5 star on my Goodreads page,with good reason. Her second in the series just became available , and is titled Silent in the Sanctuary.

The second book of this genre that I also highly enjoyed was The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox. This is a great book, along the same lines as the Count of Monte Cristo, in as much as it deals with someone being wronged and the retribution the was exacted as a result. I must admit that I did have to take a few breaks from this brick of a book, but was drawn right back in the minute I picked it back up. By the end of the book I was totally sympathetic to the main character and understood why he did what he thought was “the right thing”. I believe this one was given a 4 star rating on my Goodreads page.

Those were just two of the books I have read over the past couple of months and both were quite enjoyable. I recommend both of them highly to anyone who enjoys a good read. I never knew that I would get into the historical fiction genre as much as I have, and feel that I will be sampling more from it in the near future. If you would like to see more of what I have been up to, in the way of reading I encourage you to check out Goodreads.com . Check it all out. Then you can “friend me” and read all of my reviews ( you lucky dogs !).

 

 

