OK so where were we ……Oh yeah she had just left on the first night and we were breathing a sigh of relief. Until the next morning, when she showed up at 10:30 a.m. to ask Patrick if she could get a ride to an area where she was looking for a place. No big deal, P had to use the car that day anyway so I was being driven to work, we said sure. And that, my friends, is where it starts to get a little strange.

I was at work most of the day, and fairly busy so I didn’t get to talk much to P. When I did I was not happy with the conversation. He told me that the place she was looking at was “not going to work for her”. She asked him to pick up her bags from her old place, that then turned into her staying with us for a “few days” so she could “figure out what to do “. She finally, against her wishes, left yesterday morning. Yup, you read correctly almost a week and a half.  We finally got rid of her. But the road to getting rid of her was mighty stressful. Here is a list of a few things that transpired while she was “visiting”.

1) repeatedly yelling or being extremely rude to Patrick ( although when I was there she was all peaches and cream).

2) Being chauffeured all around the island, even after she was told we don’t have enough money for gas this week. And, I might add, without ever offering even once to chip in for said gas. 

3) Moving from our guest room onto our couch (we had promised our guest room to one of our neighbors for a week for out of town guests).

4) No offer of ANY type of thanks or restitution, even though she ate us out of house and home (after all she was eating for two).

5) Not leaving, even though we told her repeatedly she could not stay and she needed to be looking for a place (outside of the ONE place P took her to there was no house search). She even said that if she couldn’t stay in the house with us, she would be willing to sleep in the gazebo. We told her as nicely as we could that the gazebo was in the common area of the yard and sleeping in it would not be an option.

6) Stealing a few things. When she actually did listen to us and moved her bags into the living room, there were a few of my old Ties and some of our towels in her bag. She stowed them were she thought we wouldn’t see them but we did. 

The list could be longer but I am sure you get the idea of how it all went down. I had told a few people at work about it all and had 3 friends that were ready to come and get her out for us. We even had one friend that point blank asked her “So….don’t you have any friends you could be staying with?” Her reply was ” Oh no, my plan is to rent out one of the smaller places, I heard through Patrick that one of the girls is leaving soon.”

Uhmmmmmmmmm…………yeah, the girl in question that is leaving is not leaving until June, the end of June if I remember correctly. I have no idea what she was planning to do until the end of June …oh wait yes I do. I think she was planning to mooch off of us for almost 2 and a half more months, all the while making excuses for not finding a place of her own.

Things came to a head yesterday morning while I was getting ready to go to work(which is why I didn’t finish this story yesterday, I was busy all day ). The landlord called P and told him we had had a few complaints about her being in our place. Anyway, long story short (too late I know)  we were threatened with eviction, she was threatened with the police so she started yelling at P again after the phone call, which I quickly nipped in the bud. Poor Patrick had to drive me to work while she was packing and then deal with her for a few more hours until he had finally had enough, and had driven her all the way to the other side of the island (from the South side all the way to the extreme West side). During the drive they had a WWF Smackdown of an argument in which P was called a loser, pathetic and an eternal victim.That He would be “Lost without Scott”. None of which I find to be true, in fact it strikes me as if she was referring to herself(except for the lost without Scott part) . Anyway, she is gone, our house is once again our home. Patrick has promised no more gypsies. I know that he will try his best but, I also know who he is, who we are, and no doubt we will do it again. Hopefully it won’t be for a very long time.  And hopefully our next gypsy will be at least a bit appreciative of our efforts.

*** UPDATE ***  I was just getting the last of the story from Patrick. Apparently as the girl was leaving the car (Yes she did slam the door) Patrick yelled to her  ” I hope you enjoy the ties and hand towels and God knows what else you stole from us ya freaking tramp!!!!” ( freaking tramp is an edit what he really said was much worse). Then he squealed the tires a bit as he sped off. Ya gotta love my Patrick ..I tell ya.  🙂 I got him flowers from work last night to celebrate our Liberation Day.

