Unless you have been living under a rock, for the past 2 years or so you know the economy is NOT what it once was. That being said, I am of course looking for a job when I reach Portland. I am trying to keep my job with the hotel chain I work with, but that now looks like it might not happen. Needless to say while perusing the internet the other day I came up with NIL, ZERO, GOOSE EGG jobs in the chain I work for. Now I am not usually one who freaks out easily….every time I have needed a job I have found one, this time however I was freakin’ out a bit. So, naturally, I called my spouse/partner/husband/reason for living, and we had a good old-fashioned “you need to think outside the box/ Hospitality arena” conversation. He then went on to tell me how great I would be at any number of things I put my mind to. Granted, we are not leaving with nothing, we have P’s Settlement money, plus I should have a pretty hefty last check. And, yes, I know the cost of living in Portland is much lower than Paradise. Thanks to my soul mate, we ended the conversation with me KNOWING we will be ok. Just one more reason to add to my ever-growing list of why I am so happy to have found my other half.

