………that’s a very good place to start.

I have recently realized that many of the people who are part of my life now, were not in my life when P and I met (or they were but I had not yet reconnected with some of them). As any good ‘mo would do I started this blog with how Lola had become part of our lives, but not so much about how we became part of each others. Please allow me to rectify that now, Ladies and Gentlemen, IMHO the greatest story ever told…..

Before Patrick,I had been in 1 other long term relationship,7 years with a guy from India. After I broke up with him for reasons too many to mention( although we are good friends now). I moved to Portland. Oregon to live with some friends for awhile and see if I liked it there.

Needless to say,I stayed there, and began to live the life I wanted to, deep inside I wanted another BF but I enjoyed being single for a bit. I really enjoyed being the “new guy in town” and had quite a full dance card. My roomies called me manslut for a bit. But that all only lasted a bit.

Some background on Patrick: He worked at a very exclusive restaurant, whose owner was also a gay guy. Many times if they had had a good night and the owner would be in a good mood,they would go to the gay bars collecting folks for after parties at the restaurant.

It was one of the good nights and Patrick and the owner were at the bars finding guys, they were actually about to leave to go to the restaurant when Patrick saw me… way from the other end of a room.. and asked his friend to wait. The owner told him to hurry up. Patrick ran up to me, while I was talking to a hot guy, and said “Hey you need to come with me !” For a minute I was scared, it might have been the guy I was talking tos boyfriend for all I knew.
But then I jusy looked at P and said “Go Where?”
Patrick said “to an after hours party at the restaurant I work at.”

This was when the guy I was talking to chimed in,”OMG you guys are having another one?” He then looked at me and said ” you really should go! Can I come too”, He asked. Of course Patrick said yeah if we hurry the ride was leaving.

I went to the party , we had a good time, Patrick, even though he had a date at the party, came to my house with me that night. The first words he said to me the next morning were, and I swear this to be true, “Cook me breakfast, bitch”. I couldn’t though because my roomies were remodeling their kitchen, so I offered to take him out to eat.

Then I didn’t hear from him for a couple of weeks, so I called him see if I could take him out. We went to a really swanky restaurant in Portland,then I drove him home.

Two weeks later was Valentine’s day(it was also the 100th anniversary of the original teddy bear) so I bought a teddy bear embroidered with the 100 year anniversary thing on it, and some roses to him where he worked. I asked him at that time (after he was done with work of course) if he thought we could make a go of it, since we both knew we had been seeing other guys betwen our dates. He said ” wait one minute” ran to the phone and made like 5 phone calls. Then he came back to me and said “that was me breaking off every date for the next week, I think you should do the same. I got on the phone (I only had 2 or 3 calls to make) and we were together since. February 15 would have been 11 years. Feb 15th ( cuz we didn’t wanna be tacky) of 2006 we got married as legally as we can here in the U. S. while living om Maui. We got Lola when we moved in together, which was about 2 months after we chose to be exclusive, then we got our second dog Hoku while in Maui. I don’t care how many people think my lifestyle is wrong and “goin to Hell” Love, real true love that takes the good with the bad, can have fights …rows even and still know that love is still there,I believe, does not know gender.I have had it twice in my life. I see no way possible that it can be a bad thing.

And that is how we started our amazing and incredible journey. Hope you all enjoyed.

